Former hotel Dvořáček
The monumental building was built on the site of the medieval town walls in 1899. After 1918, the hotel ‘At the Archduke Franz Ferdinand’ changed its name, in accordance with its owner, to ‘Dvořáček’. In the early 20th century, it was one of the most luxurious accommodation facilities in South Bohemia. From the 1960s to 1994 it served as the ‘Interhotel Otava’. The facade of the Neo-Renaissance building boasts 11 paintings depicting the history of Písek, designed by the national painter and regional native Mikoláš Aleš.
Aleš' tracks can be found in other places in the town. At the age of ten he began to attend the main school in Písek, at that time German. He lived together with his two older brothers and uncle in several different rental locations, particularly in the house on Ningrova ulice where his bust may be found. The adjacent square is named after this famous national painter.
He took part in the decoration of the Kodlův House on the street Národní Svobody. Reproductions of Aleš' caricatures hang in the restaurant U Reinerů which he drew during a visit here in 1897.